Open in new tab context menu missing?

General discussion about Slimjet, or other issues related to web browser in general.
Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:16 am

The Subject pretty much says it all. Where did it go? Which extension had it or has it? THIS IS AN ESSENTIAL FEATURE!!

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by oftentired » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:03 am

So your saying that for any link you encounter on a website, when you right click that link, the topmost context menu is not, "Open link in new tab"?

If that is true the only thing I can think of is a bad installation. I would uninstall and then reinstall from a fresh download.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:26 am

I just did an uninstall/re-install of 32-bit Slimjet.

In the bookmarks bar, there is no "Open in new tab" when I right click the context menu over a link. Other context menu items are there, but not "open in new tab" as there was in the past.

In a web page, there is a little "+" next to link and when I right click there is NOT context menu at all, and the link opens in a new page.

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by oftentired » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:50 am

In Settings search for Registry, then click the button to repair the registry settings, I would restart the browser after that and see if there has been an improvement.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

CrockPot
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by CrockPot » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:58 am

No such a issue here(17.0.8 x64)

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:15 am

Thank you for your help and advice - however, Repair Browser Registry did not work apparently! (see screenshot attached):
Last edited by Ronnie8in on Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:22 am

CrockPot wrote:No such a issue here(17.0.8 x64)
Does it work for a link in the Bookmarks bar? That is my problem.

CrockPot
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by CrockPot » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:57 pm

It does

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by oftentired » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:54 pm

This is the only other thing I can think of.

Check your extensions. Especially any you have recently installed. Turn them off one at a time and restart and test.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

sleeper10
Posts: 353
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by sleeper10 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:02 pm

Yes, it sounds like an extension might be blocking it. Does it appear in Incognito mode?

Locked