Set my location?

Asking questions regarding how to use Slimjet.
Post Reply
User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago

Set my location?

Post by Passenger » Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:53 pm

When I'm in settings and click "set my location' country state and zip already filled in.

I'm guessing this is from my ISP.

What is the value of filling in the rest of the data?

Thank you.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 26.0.3.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Set my location?

Post by Passenger » Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:19 am

Clarifications:
What sites use this data?
Does it help pre-fill certain forms or can sites read it directly?
Or both?
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 26.0.3.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1306
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Set my location?

Post by oftentired » Sat Dec 14, 2019 7:38 pm

i believe this is completely separate from the quick fill form data

the set your location is used for the weather data, all you really need is the correct zip code, the rest does not seem to be needed or used for anything
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Set my location?

Post by Passenger » Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:07 am

Thank you.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 26.0.3.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

Post Reply