resolution on homepage changed using parallax

Slimjet bug reports
Post Reply
gwrpaleo
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:40 am

resolution on homepage changed using parallax

Post by gwrpaleo »

I am using pclinuxos 2014.5
I have used slimjet for months with no problem.
I started Slimjet and it asked me if I wanted to try parallax(fVD 3d) on homepage.
It worked fine for a moment and then crashed.
When I restarted it the resolution changed from 1360x768 to 715x313.
I exhausted slimjets settings and FVDs settings and still no luck
I uninstalled it with Synaptic and removed everything that I could find config etc.
I even tried downloading from slimjet's website and re-installed it, same problem.
I have repeated this action several times.
Is there a config file I am missing?
I am getting frustrated with this and am tempted to just use chrome.
Last edited by gwrpaleo on Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

gwrpaleo
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:40 am

resolution is stuck on 640x480 or so.Cannot fix with re-inst

Post by gwrpaleo »

My slimjet has changed the resolution from 1360x768 to 640x480.
I am using Pclinuxos 2014.5

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: resolution is stuck on 640x480 or so.Cannot fix with re-

Post by flashpeak »

Can't you just resize the Slimjet window? Or are you talking about the resolution of the linux system?
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

gwrpaleo
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:40 am

Re: resolution is stuck on 640x480 or so.Cannot fix with re-

Post by gwrpaleo »

It was only on Slimjet.
The homepage was effected.
There is no way to change the resolution on the page itself.
You can zoom +50% and the speed dial icons will shrink to the correct reso.
Web pages displayed as they are supposed to.
This was apparently broken in the pclos repo version 5.0.6.0
This version from Slimjet 5.0.6.0(tar) has the same problem.
I downgraded to an earlier version and it works perfectly.
I use fvd 3d speeddial for a home page.
Parallax could have been the issue.
Again this is pclinuxos 2014.
Works perfect after downgrade.
Thanks for your response Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: resolution is stuck on 640x480 or so.Cannot fix with re-

Post by flashpeak »

It might be some compatibility issue between Slimjet and the newtab extension.
However, I tried the same extension on ubuntu and it worked just fine.
clipimage.jpg
Can you attach a screenshot?



Can you remov
gwrpaleo wrote:It was only on Slimjet.
The homepage was effected.
There is no way to change the resolution on the page itself.
You can zoom +50% and the speed dial icons will shrink to the correct reso.
Web pages displayed as they are supposed to.
This was apparently broken in the pclos repo version 5.0.6.0
This version from Slimjet 5.0.6.0(tar) has the same problem.
I downgraded to an earlier version and it works perfectly.
I use fvd 3d speeddial for a home page.
Parallax could have been the issue.
Again this is pclinuxos 2014.
Works perfect after downgrade.
Thanks for your response Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

gwrpaleo
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:40 am

Re: resolution on homepage changed using parallax

Post by gwrpaleo »

I did not save a screenshot before I downgraded but it is the reso that is wrong(bars,background,menus,widgets etc. are huge )
I removed the fvd new tab extension and same issue with standard homepage.
I am using 4.0.1.5 and it works just fine, problem is some newer apps do not work right.
The later (5*) will not work.
It prompts me that I am using an older version and to update.
I also use kubuntu 15.04 and mint 17.2 and the 5.0.7.0 works fine in those systems (deb).
It seems to be with pclinuxos, although I will add I used slimjet with updates for months before it crashed.
I think I am stuck with 4.0.1.5 until this is fixed by flashpeak or pclos.
Pclos uses rpm's with apt-get/synaptic as a frontend, so DEB version will not work either.

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1350
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: resolution on homepage changed using parallax

Post by oftentired »

Maybe I'm a bit dense but I'm still unclear if the problem is strictly the Slimjet window contained just within Slimjet while it is running or if it is a problem with the Desktop and other applications when they are running and if so is it only when Slimjet is running or when it is not running.

gwrpaleo
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:40 am

Re: resolution on homepage changed using parallax

Post by gwrpaleo »

snapshot.jpg
715x313 0.9 mp

new.jpg
1360x651 0.2

Here are the two snaps of the homepage on both installs, as you can see they are much different.(app twice the reso in 4.0.15.0 as 5.0.7.0)
It is simply slimjet setting the reso to a lower value, and slimjet is applying that reso to its content in the later version.
Hope this clarifies it for you.

Post Reply