[Resolved] beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Slimjet bug reports
narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

Apparently this method isn't necessary. See next comment.
dev wrote:What did you alter to get the list working ?
In 5.0.5 you can insert a url but it says that easylist is mandatory and I didn't see the point in adding a ton of redundant filters, so I used the same method I had previously. It's worth noting that I'm using the portable version so if you use the installed version the folders and files will probably be under C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Slimjet (AppData is hidden by default, you have to apply "show hidden files/folders" in Windows Explorer).

Turn adblock off and close Slimjet, then:

Go to Slimjet\data\adblocker filter lists.txt, open and change Easylist url to: https://www.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ultimate.txt save and close.

Go to Slimjet\User Data\Default\adblocker and delete everything. Leave this folder minimized.

Open Slimjet and go to filter options, click "x" on the right of Easylist to delete it. Re-select Easylist from filter options and add it. This time the update url should be the Ultimate List. Re-enable Adblock and close.

Check the minimized folder. The English Sites file should now be around 2,350kb which means you replaced Easy with Ultimate which is around 1,500kb.
Last edited by narcolepticinsomniac on Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

The easylist is not really mandatory if you are using Fanboy's ultimate list. In Slimjet 5.0.5, we no longer recommend manually modifying the file adblocker filter lists.txt. Instead, just turn off Easylist in the ad blocker options dialog. Then use the "Add your own filter" option to add whatever filter you would like to add. You can actually click on any link starting with "abp:subscribe" to automatically subscribe to third-party filters.

We put "required" after Easylist because we don't want French users to select "French sites" only. We want them to select both English sites and French sites. The other language lists are all in addition to Easy list instead of replacing it.

narcolepticinsomniac wrote:
dev wrote:What did you alter to get the list working ?
In 5.0.5 you can insert a url but it says that easylist is mandatory and I didn't see the point in adding a ton of redundant filters, so I used the same method I had previously. It's worth noting that I'm using the portable version so if you use the installed version the folders and files will probably be under C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Slimjet (AppData is hidden by default, you have to apply "show hidden files/folders" in Windows Explorer).

Turn adblock off and close Slimjet, then:

Go to Slimjet\data\adblocker filter lists.txt, open and change Easylist url to: https://www.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ultimate.txt save and close.

Go to Slimjet\User Data\Default\adblocker and delete everything. Leave this folder minimized.

Open Slimjet and go to filter options, click "x" on the right of Easylist to delete it. Re-select Easylist from filter options and add it. This time the update url should be the Ultimate List. Re-enable Adblock and close.

Check the minimized folder. The English Sites file should now be around 2,350kb which means you replaced Easy with Ultimate which is around 1,500kb.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

narcolepticinsomniac wrote:
dev wrote:What did you alter to get the list working ?
In 5.0.5 you can insert a url but it says that easylist is mandatory and I didn't see the point in adding a ton of redundant filters, so I used the same method I had previously. It's worth noting that I'm using the portable version so if you use the installed version the folders and files will probably be under C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Slimjet (AppData is hidden by default, you have to apply "show hidden files/folders" in Windows Explorer).

Turn adblock off and close Slimjet, then:

Go to Slimjet\data\adblocker filter lists.txt, open and change Easylist url to: https://www.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ultimate.txt save and close.

Go to Slimjet\User Data\Default\adblocker and delete everything. Leave this folder minimized.

Open Slimjet and go to filter options, click "x" on the right of Easylist to delete it. Re-select Easylist from filter options and add it. This time the update url should be the Ultimate List. Re-enable Adblock and close.

Check the minimized folder. The English Sites file should now be around 2,350kb which means you replaced Easy with Ultimate which is around 1,500kb.
Cheers mate I had a feeling it may be a conflict of sorts with having easylist and fanboy ultimate enabled together as its the same list but with added blocks. I have noticed a few other lists when enabled are crashing slimjet fanboy social and fanboy annoyances lists do.

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

It is not conflict. It's buffer overflow. Fanboy's list is a lot bigger than Easylist. If you turn off Easylist and then add Fanboy's by itself, it might turn out ok. We are fixing this in the next build.
dev wrote:
narcolepticinsomniac wrote:
dev wrote:What did you alter to get the list working ?
In 5.0.5 you can insert a url but it says that easylist is mandatory and I didn't see the point in adding a ton of redundant filters, so I used the same method I had previously. It's worth noting that I'm using the portable version so if you use the installed version the folders and files will probably be under C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Slimjet (AppData is hidden by default, you have to apply "show hidden files/folders" in Windows Explorer).

Turn adblock off and close Slimjet, then:

Go to Slimjet\data\adblocker filter lists.txt, open and change Easylist url to: https://www.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ultimate.txt save and close.

Go to Slimjet\User Data\Default\adblocker and delete everything. Leave this folder minimized.

Open Slimjet and go to filter options, click "x" on the right of Easylist to delete it. Re-select Easylist from filter options and add it. This time the update url should be the Ultimate List. Re-enable Adblock and close.

Check the minimized folder. The English Sites file should now be around 2,350kb which means you replaced Easy with Ultimate which is around 1,500kb.
Cheers mate I had a feeling it may be a conflict of sorts with having easylist and fanboy ultimate enabled together as its the same list but with added blocks. I have noticed a few other lists when enabled are crashing slimjet fanboy social and fanboy annoyances lists do.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

flashpeak wrote:The easylist is not really mandatory if you are using Fanboy's ultimate list. In Slimjet 5.0.5, we no longer recommend manually modifying the file adblocker filter lists.txt.

We put "required" after Easylist because we don't want French users to select "French sites" only. We want them to select both English sites and French sites. The other language lists are all in addition to Easy list instead of replacing it.
Good to know. I amended my post. It says "required" so I figured it would re-enable itself. You might consider adding "Easylist also required" to foreign lists instead to avoid confusion. Have you had a chance to take a look at my last examples of unapplied filters?

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

I believe the crash mentioned by dev, the case sensitivity problem and unapplied filters problem should all have been fixed in 5.0.6. Please double check.
narcolepticinsomniac wrote:
flashpeak wrote:The easylist is not really mandatory if you are using Fanboy's ultimate list. In Slimjet 5.0.5, we no longer recommend manually modifying the file adblocker filter lists.txt.

We put "required" after Easylist because we don't want French users to select "French sites" only. We want them to select both English sites and French sites. The other language lists are all in addition to Easy list instead of replacing it.
Good to know. I amended my post. It says "required" so I figured it would re-enable itself. You might consider adding "Easylist also required" to foreign lists instead to avoid confusion. Have you had a chance to take a look at my last examples of unapplied filters?
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

5.0.6.0 adblocker seems to be blocking everything i want to block and the filters that narcolepticinsomniac mentioned seem to be working also, i also added a load of lists to see if it would crash slimjet it didn't. The only bug bear with it at the moment is there is no placeholders for blocked elements so websites are looking a bit ugly with either the no pic icon or text for example:
<!DOCTYPE html><html><head><script>location.href = "http://tripandleisure.com/travel/10-thi ... ead></html> where the element/ad is blocked.

It would be nice to have some right click context menu commands e.g select ad components to block, ad blocker options etc and yes i know you have the toolbar icon but i find right clicking far quicker.

I have noticed the browser is far quicker using the inbuilt adblocker, websites are not hanging for that few seconds like they do with a extension adblocker so Great job as usual from the devs :)

A sidenote for the devs its worth mentioning that with the right lists like pete lowe tracking list or disconnect lists the adblocker is as good as extensions like ghostery, disconnect etc to blocking websites from tracking your every move on the web thus another less extension to use = a quicker browser

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

It's gotten much better. Case sensitivity was probably the biggest issue with unapplied filters. I have noticed an ad here or there but I haven't investigated why or what filters yet, so I won't submit examples till I'm reasonably sure it's a bug.
One anomaly that I'm sure is a bug is one of the first ones I mentioned. Element hiding doesn't work correctly when links are opened via javascript in a new tab. This led me to believe some CSS filters weren't being applied which is only sorta true. To reproduce I'll use the same example as last time.
with Fanboy Ultimate enabled click this link:
http://www.primewire.ag/external.php?ti ... loggedin=0

Everything is blocked as expected.

Now follow this link:
http://www.primewire.ag/tv-5173-Law-Ord ... -episode-1

and click the first promptfile link (they're the same link but the second is opened by javascript). The most obvious thing is the social networking icons that shouldn't be there. You'll see "tweet" in the subheader and what's left of the icons pop up in a few seconds, but that div shouldn't be there at all. You'll also notice that the error placeholders aren't being removed as they should be when links are opened this way. Another odd thing is that once this occurs, a hard reload doesn't fix it.

Edit: removed a flawed theory regarding cache.

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

Ads that i'm blocking with select ad components to block command are not staying blocked if i refresh or restart slimjet the ads reappear. For example http://hugefiles.net/jftxgpkdvqzc ad is from http://winmorecoin.com. I've added the (*) wildcard for it as well. If you refresh the page it just comes back.

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

@dev, it might be the bug I'm talking about. A lot of filehoster link sites open links via javascript which Slimjet isn't dealing well with. I did hugefiles when they rolled out the new garbage:

||winmorecoin.com^$third-party
hugefiles.net##.twin-table
hugefiles.net##.download-file-btn-p
hugefiles.net##.inner-bg-repeat div[style]:nth-of-type(2)
hugefiles.net##.member-bg
hugefiles.net##.content-bg-repeat h2
hugefiles.net##.inner-bg-repeat h2

The first is the one you were referring to, the others get rid of all the rest of the new crap.

If the site that is linking you opens the page with javascript, copy the url and paste it in a new tab (reload won't work).

Locked