[Resolved] beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Slimjet bug reports
reactorr
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:45 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by reactorr »

again, not working. Beta Version (5.0.2.0)

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

For me Beta 5.3 seems to be blocking ads now on various sites i'll continue testing but I'm still going to use a extension adblocker till we have the ability to add our own lists. I would suggest adding these lists https://github.com/liamja/Prebake, Adblock Warning Removal List found here https://easylist.adblockplus.org/en/, https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ul ... tle=Fanboy Ultimate Adblock found here https://www.fanboy.co.nz/filters.html and https://github.com/reek/anti-adblock-killer. To have the ability to Disable Social Media Buttons ( taken from adblockplus page Buttons used to share content on social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus and others are placed on almost every website that you visit. Even if you don't click them, these buttons send requests to the social network's servers which then uses the information to create a profile based on your browsing habits).

I know its a beta but things to look at with the adblocker UI . If you have the toolbar icon for it on your toolbar it would nice to see how ads are blocked when visiting a site.

Great work as always from the developers.

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

We will add capability for users to add new lists pretty soon. Right now, you can edit the file "data/adblocker filter lists.txt" under the installation folder to add your own list into the available lists.

By the way, we have added a little instant chat tool on the page http://www.slimjet.com/en/onlinefb.htm . There is a little chat box at the right bottom corner of the page. Maybe we can have a quick chat over there to resolve your java access issue.
dev wrote:For me Beta 5.3 seems to be blocking ads now on various sites i'll continue testing but I'm still going to use a extension adblocker till we have the ability to add our own lists. I would suggest adding these lists https://github.com/liamja/Prebake, Adblock Warning Removal List found here https://easylist.adblockplus.org/en/, https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ul ... tle=Fanboy Ultimate Adblock found here https://www.fanboy.co.nz/filters.html and https://github.com/reek/anti-adblock-killer. To have the ability to Disable Social Media Buttons ( taken from adblockplus page Buttons used to share content on social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus and others are placed on almost every website that you visit. Even if you don't click them, these buttons send requests to the social network's servers which then uses the information to create a profile based on your browsing habits).

I know its a beta but things to look at with the adblocker UI . If you have the toolbar icon for it on your toolbar it would nice to see how ads are blocked when visiting a site.

Great work as always from the developers.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

I modified "adblocker filter lists.txt" and got Fanboys Ultimate List working. There is a bug in the element hiding when pages are opened via javascript links in a new tab. Example: http://www.primewire.ag/watch-2763730-Spy go to movie links and click on the first promptfile link. The adserver is blocked but the placeholders are not. Reloading the page removes placeholders.
I really like the idea of a built in adblock but does it support all of ABP'S rules? They've gotten a lot more intricate than regex url blocking and element hiding.
To anyone saying to base it off Ublock instead of ABP, that doesn't apply here. The real downside to ABP is the resources used in injecting giant stylesheets via javascript in every page and each individual iframe. The advantage of it being built in is that the stylesheets are handled at the browser level making them faster and more efficient. The advantage to basing the rule syntax off ABP is that ABP is what is used by the list maintainers, so 100% of the rules work. Look in the Ublock third party filter list. Quite a few rules aren't applied because there's at least one filter that isn't supported. The developer stated his reason, but it seems frivolous since these types of filters are the ones used for anti-anti-adblock and unbreaking sites wrongly broken by certain useful filters.
Hopefully @flashpeak can clear up the issue when opening javascript links in a new tab.

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

flashpeak wrote:The built-in ad blocker is not based on anything as far as coding is concerned. We do use the same filtering rules used by Adblock Plus. I think most of the ad blockers use either Easylist or Fanboy's list. Since our implementation is done natively within the browser, it will be more efficient than any of the existing ad blocking extensions.
It needs to be based on ABP syntax rules for filters which you seem to have completely overlooked. For example: go to http://www.newsvine.com/odd-news open "Network" in Devtools and reload the page. Locate "sdk.js" which is "http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js". Enter this filter: ||facebook.net^$third-party which blocks facebook.net from injecting content in any page that isn't their own. In Slimjet it does nothing. Third-party filters account for a huge portion of useful filters and are actually some of the lesser complicated rules. If they don't even work, I think it's safe to say that little or no thought was put into the actual translation of filter rules so that they can be implemented and actually work as intended. What a shame.

Edit: ABP is open source, so it's not as if you'd have to code it from scratch: https://adblockplus.org/source

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

There was a bug here. It will be fixed in the next build 5.0.5.
narcolepticinsomniac wrote:
flashpeak wrote:The built-in ad blocker is not based on anything as far as coding is concerned. We do use the same filtering rules used by Adblock Plus. I think most of the ad blockers use either Easylist or Fanboy's list. Since our implementation is done natively within the browser, it will be more efficient than any of the existing ad blocking extensions.
It needs to be based on ABP syntax rules for filters which you seem to have completely overlooked. For example: go to http://www.newsvine.com/odd-news open "Network" in Devtools and reload the page. Locate "sdk.js" which is "http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js". Enter this filter: ||facebook.net^$third-party which blocks facebook.net from injecting content in any page that isn't their own. In Slimjet it does nothing. Third-party filters account for a huge portion of useful filters and are actually some of the lesser complicated rules. If they don't even work, I think it's safe to say that little or no thought was put into the actual translation of filter rules so that they can be implemented and actually work as intended. What a shame.

Edit: ABP is open source, so it's not as if you'd have to code it from scratch: https://adblockplus.org/source
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

In 5.0.5 with inbuilt adblocker enabled slimjet keeps crashing when opening a new link or tab.

When relaunched adblocker is disabled.

flashpeak
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:57 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by flashpeak »

Sorry to hear that. Does it depend on a specific list of filters you have enabled? Do you have a crash dump file to share?
dev wrote:In 5.0.5 with inbuilt adblocker enabled slimjet keeps crashing when opening a new link or tab.

When relaunched adblocker is disabled.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Inc.

narcolepticinsomniac
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by narcolepticinsomniac »

Third-party filters seem fixed but there's still some bugs. I use shady file hosters to check Adblockers. The best way to tell which filters aren't working and to figure out why, is to open the same page with the same filters in Firefox with ABP. You can select "open blockable items" which shows you what was blocked and which filters were used. As best I can tell one of the biggest flaws still present is case sensitivity. ABP doesn't apply case sensitivity to filters unless explicitly told to via ",match-case" https://adblockplus.org/en/filters#advanced which is also important to support since it's only used when rules have detrimental side-effects otherwise. Yours seems to be interpreting them all as case sensitive, for example: http://bestreams.net/tb2ig55o88pm. All the urls with "/adServe/" should be blocked by the filter "/adserve/*" but they're not.
The really odd thing is that some element hiding rules are still not being applied. These are supposed to be no-brainers that work 100% of the time. When they don't it's usually because a misinterpreted rule preceding it has broken the list which can lead to huge portions being ignored. For example, with Fanboy ultimate list enabled, go to:
http://www.primewire.ag/external.php?ti ... loggedin=0
The div that the social network icons pop up in should be hidden by this filter "##.addthis_toolbox" which is in the list. It works in every browser but Slimjet. I'm not sure why, but like I said, when simple CSS rules aren't being applied there's a good chance the list has been fractured.

dev
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: beta5 adblocker bug/JavaScript bug

Post by dev »

flashpeak wrote:Sorry to hear that. Does it depend on a specific list of filters you have enabled? Do you have a crash dump file to share?
dev wrote:In 5.0.5 with inbuilt adblocker enabled slimjet keeps crashing when opening a new link or tab.

When relaunched adblocker is disabled.
https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/r/fanboy-ul ... tle=Fanboy Ultimate Adblock is causing the crash after testing and narcolepticinsomniac is right in saying that not all elements are being blocked
narcolepticinsomniac wrote:I modified "adblocker filter lists.txt" and got Fanboys Ultimate List working. There is a bug in the element hiding when pages are opened via javascript links in a new tab. Example: <a href="http://www.primewire.ag/watch-2763730-Spy" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer" style="cursor:help;display:inline !important;">http://www.primewire.ag/watch-2763730-Spy</a> go to movie links and click on the first promptfile link. The adserver is blocked but the placeholders are not. Reloading the page removes placeholders.
I really like the idea of a built in adblock but does it support all of ABP'S rules? They've gotten a lot more intricate than regex url blocking and element hiding.
To anyone saying to base it off Ublock instead of ABP, that doesn't apply here. The real downside to ABP is the resources used in injecting giant stylesheets via javascript in every page and each individual iframe. The advantage of it being built in is that the stylesheets are handled at the browser level making them faster and more efficient. The advantage to basing the rule syntax off ABP is that ABP is what is used by the list maintainers, so 100% of the rules work. Look in the Ublock third party filter list. Quite a few rules aren't applied because there's at least one filter that isn't supported. The developer stated his reason, but it seems frivolous since these types of filters are the ones used for anti-anti-adblock and unbreaking sites wrongly broken by certain useful filters.
Hopefully @flashpeak can clear up the issue when opening javascript links in a new tab.
What did you alter to get the list working ?

Locked