Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Slimjet bug reports
josegimcam
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

I've noticed that the new version has a high cpu usage.
To reproduce it, play any video in youtube.
This doesn't happens in Firefox or Edge.
Thanks.

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by oftentired »

I've noticed a high CPU usage just running it, not even playing video. It is one reason I have Vivaldi, basically the same thing, installed. It was killing my old laptop with heat, my new gaming laptop does much better. But, something is pushing the CPU to load up that doesn't need to.

EDIT: Just to be clear, for me, it has been an issue for several major versions
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 10

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Passenger »

Hmm. Just checked (but did not check previous version).

Less of a hog than Brave. Also less of a hog than the Open Office quick launcher.

The hoggiest of all my applications (not just browsers) is Tor.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 32.0.1.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

josegimcam
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

Uninstall it and went back to 29.0.2.0. No problems there.

josegimcam
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

I´m testing it but with 30.0.3.0 the issue with high cpu seems to be fixed.
Thanks.

josegimcam
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

Nop, false, the problem with high cpu continues with 30.0.3.0. Going back to 29.0.2.0.
Thanks.

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Passenger »

Just got the 30.0.3.0 bug fix.

Slimjet is using ~100 MB of RAM
That makes it more of a hog than all but Brave and Tor.

Performance does not seem to me to be degraded, but then I don't have a lot of tabs open.
But I see it could be a problem. Sticking with it for now, but we'll see.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 32.0.1.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

josegimcam
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

100 MB of RAM for Slimjet is normal. Now I have 106.2.
If you compare that to Firefox 390.9 and Edge 336.7 (one page open, the same one), it's not a hog.
Furthermore, since many years ago I discovered that Slimjet it's one of the browsers with less imprint in RAM.

User avatar
Mr_Electro84
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 1:20 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Mr_Electro84 »

I also noticed that, Slimjet consumes less RAM than its competitors browsers, and that's a good point :)
Mr_Electro84 - From France

Windows 10 with Slimjet 31 (x86) - Ready to get Windows 11

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Passenger »

Even if it did go up, it has not reached the point of being a problem.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 32.0.1.0
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

Post Reply