Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Slimjet bug reports
josegimcam
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

Not in my case, only visit the page, no signin. No problem.
Went to watch a video and 55.01 CPU. Close YT page and 51.1 CPU. Deleted YT cookies and back to normal. So, apparently, it has to do with Youtube and it's cookies.

User avatar
rseilersj
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by rseilersj »

Right, but it's a page which requires signin to do anything. Otherwise, it's essentially a blank page asking you to signin.

It definitely has to do with YT cookies, but doesn't require watching a video. Though watching (usually multiple) videos is enough to also do it.

josegimcam
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

And if the problem is Youtube?, not Slimjet, because, as far I can see, it's the only site causing this problem.

User avatar
rseilersj
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by rseilersj »

Then that would mean it would have been solved almost immediately, because it's a Top 5 world-popular web site affecting Google's own browser as well. That can't be the case. Plus, people mention returning to Slimjet 29.

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Passenger »

There are two things going on here, that get especially messy together.

One is that the last version of Slimjet broke a lot of stuff that worked just fine before.
The other is YouTube not playing nice, but in a way I previously compensated for with AdBlock and NoScript and a few extensions.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 29.0.3.0 (for good)
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

User avatar
rseilersj
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by rseilersj »

For those who went back to v29, is that sound given the major version jump? I thought it was problematic to use a later profile with an earlier major version, that the mismatch may introduce other problems.

User avatar
Passenger
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by Passenger »

Haven't had any problems just reinstalling it without deleting anything.
And again after checking out 30.0.4.0

Always backing up profiles on general principles, but did not need to do any emergency recovery with them.

I'll post any problems if they arise.
OS -- Windows 7
Slimjet 29.0.3.0 (for good)
Native ad blocker disabled
NoScript, AdBlock Plus <<== I consider these extensions essential

josegimcam
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

Continues the discussion about the Slimjet update from 30.0.4.0 to 30.0.5.0, one thing is certain, the issue of Slimjet using up for more than 50% in cpu viewing videos in Youtube has not been fixed. I´ve seen some opinions over this in other forums about the same thing. This issue only happens in Slimjet. I´ve tried Edge, Firefox and Brave and they are ok.
Below the links mentioned:

https://www.slimjet.com/en/forum/viewto ... 029#p11345

https://www.slimjet.com/en/forum/viewto ... 029#p11343

User avatar
rseilersj
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by rseilersj »

The thing about the decoder mentioned in one of those threads is interesting. Has anyone tried that as a workaround?

It's unclear why he says the problem is a Chromium one though without citing another browser where it happens. I doubt he'll find one.

Meanwhile, life on v29 is fine. It's not like we'd have a current version of Chromium in any case, so it doesn't much matter being on v29 vs v30.

josegimcam
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:14 am

Re: Slimjet versions 30.0.1.0 and 30.0.2.0 high cpu usage

Post by josegimcam »

I don´t think is a chromium thing because Edge and Brave are chromium. I haven´t tried the decoders nor will I. I´m using Brave waiting to see what the people at Slimjet are going to do. It´s a pity Slimjet was my default for many years.

Post Reply