Google DNS (how to change?)

General discussion about Slimjet, or other issues related to web browser in general.
Post Reply
kvtech01
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:46 pm

Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by kvtech01 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:35 pm

Hello.
Just installed Slimjet, really like it as I still use XP/3 (Donated $25)

I have Slimjet 10.0.13.0 (Chrome 50.0.2661.75) on XP/3

When I start Slimjet, Zone Alarm asks if I want to allow a DNS (google)
other than the ISP DNS setup in my LinkSys WRT160Nv3 router.
If I refuse, Slimjet will not connect to the internet.

I currently use Opera36 & Opera12.18 (for older sites rejected by Chrome)
They both use my router DNS by default.

QUESTION: How can I change Slimjet to stop forcing the use of google DNS
and use the DNS setup in my router?

Also, I would prefer to disconnect any google services in slimjet,
or at least select which ones to use.

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by oftentired » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:39 pm

Go to Control Panel>Network Connections and select your local network. Click Properties, then select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP). At the Internet Protocol window, select "Use the following DNS server addresses" and enter the desired DNS server(s) in the space(s) provided.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

kvtech01
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:46 pm

Re: Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by kvtech01 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:48 pm

Will do, thanks.

kvtech01
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:46 pm

Re: Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by kvtech01 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:27 pm

Sorry, that did not do it.

Slimjet (only) is still asking zonealarm for permission for a google dns.
either 208.xxxx.xxxx.xxxx etc or a 172.xxx.xxx.xx (although it may
change to others, all are google DNS's by reverse lookup.

My network connection-> DNS server property is already setup for
my router gateway 192.168.1.1 and my primary DNS server addr.

It appears that this is originating inside Slimjet (?)

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by oftentired » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:20 pm

Ok, check out this forum post

Forum Post
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

CrockPot
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Google DNS (how to change?)

Post by CrockPot » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:27 am

Actually i think it's the prefetch that uses google's DNS.
OP,go to your Settings->Advanced Settings and see if any of the following are enabled.If they are,disable them and see if it fixes the problem:

Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Use a prediction service to load pages more quickly
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors

Not sure for those two,but if the above don't do the trick disabled them as well:

Safe Browsing
Help improve Safe Browsing

Post Reply