Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

General discussion about Slimjet, or other issues related to web browser in general.
Locked
Joel
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:20 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by Joel » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:40 pm

Slimjet is running verrrrry slow today; almost to a standstill at times. So when I opened Task Manager I saw TEN instances of it open at the same time, as you can see in the attached screenshot. But I DO NOT have ten instances of Slimjet running. I have only one instance open, and only one tab. What's going on??


Slimjet-10-instances.png
Not everyone is a genius like you; treat them accordingly.


User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1235
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by oftentired » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:18 pm

There is actually only a single instance of Slimjet which contains multiple processes. Insufficient information to even hazard a guess as to why it was running slow.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

Joel
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:20 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by Joel » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:56 pm

This is the first time I asked such a question, and your reply makes it seem like you've told me over and over again. A bit rude, eh? :evil:
Not everyone is a genius like you; treat them accordingly.

Joel
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:20 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by Joel » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:57 pm

oftentired wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:18 pm
There is actually only a single instance of Slimjet which contains multiple processes. Insufficient information to even hazard a guess as to why it was running slow.
Thank you, and thank you for not treating me like an imbecile.

Turns out the slowness was due to the background installation of the latest WIndows update. All is well, now.
Not everyone is a genius like you; treat them accordingly.

CrockPot
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by CrockPot » Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:50 pm

Joel wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:56 pm
This is the first time I asked such a question, and your reply makes it seem like you've told me over and over again. A bit rude, eh? :evil:
Relax dude,you taking it too personal. Just trying to make it as simple as possible and understandable.Simple google-ing would've give you the answer instead of posting it here and then rant about it. "Eh"

Joel
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 4:20 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by Joel » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:55 pm

CrockPot wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:50 pm
Joel wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:56 pm
This is the first time I asked such a question, and your reply makes it seem like you've told me over and over again. A bit rude, eh? :evil:
Relax dude,you taking it too personal. Just trying to make it as simple as possible and understandable.Simple google-ing would've give you the answer instead of posting it here and then rant about it. "Eh"
I did do some Googling, but at the time it was a PITA because of how slow everything was going (think 28.8 modem), and it was literally taking 5 minutes for anything to respond when I clicked the mouse. Ain't nobody got time for that, so why not come straight here and ask?

And it was certainly not a rant, it was a statement of the situation, and request for solutions.

The caption on the image you linked me to was a bit terse. Maybe a gentler approach is warranted?
Not everyone is a genius like you; treat them accordingly.

CrockPot
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:26 am

Re: Why is there 10 instances of Slimjet in Task Manager?

Post by CrockPot » Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:11 pm

I did do some Googling, but at the time it was a PITA because of how slow everything was going (think 28.8 modem), and it was literally taking 5 minutes for anything to respond when I clicked the mouse. Ain't nobody got time for that, so why not come straight here and ask?
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sorry about your troubles.

The caption on the image you linked me to was a bit terse. Maybe a gentler approach is warranted?
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Noted!

Locked