Open in new tab context menu missing?

General discussion about Slimjet, or other issues related to web browser in general.
Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:44 am

Same behavior in In Cognito mode and when I turn off extensions, I lost 90% of my open tabs.

I think I need to do a completely clean removal and re-install. Something is very wrong. I do not see this horrible behavior on my other laptop.

Thanks for the help!

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:18 am

By the way, a complete uninstall and re-install with NO Extensions enabled but imported bookmarks has the SAME problem - no "open in new tab" in context menu when right clicking on a bookmark in the bookmarks bar. VERY STRANGE!!

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1241
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by oftentired » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:37 am

try the portable version
install it to root C or some similar place
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:06 pm

AHAHAHAAHAHAHAAAAAA!

There is a series of Tab options under "Settings" that says, "Auto create new tab when a URL is entered" - if this is switched on, the "Open in new tab" context menu item disappears .

How this got switched on my settings is a mystery to me.

Thank you everyone for your patience, help, and support!!! I am sorry to have been so aggravating!

sleeper10
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by sleeper10 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:08 pm

Not sure it will help, but you can try Settings, Advanced, Reset or this extension:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... i?hl=en-US

sleeper10
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by sleeper10 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:11 pm

Glad you solved it. I looked in Settings but I missed that.

User avatar
oftentired
Posts: 1241
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 3:14 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by oftentired » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:18 pm

That is an interesting setting. I turned it on. Many times I still get the Open in new tab choice. Sometimes I get a choice to Open in current tab. Very interesting. I'm going to try it for a while with that on as I almost always open in a new tab anyway.
For those of you who wear aluminum foil hats, the voices lie, don't believe them!

Running 32 Bit SJ on Win 7 Pro

ajkalian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:05 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by ajkalian » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:21 am

It changed at some point, from Version 16 to 17, IRRC.

If you right click on a bookmark, Open in new Tab isn't an option. Open in Current Tab is. But left clicking the link in the Bookmarks Menu will open the link in a New Tab. If you want the link opened in the current tab you have to select it.

However if I right click a link in any web page link, then I get the option Open in new Tab only, and if I just click the link it will open in the current tab.

It used to be the same option, right click, Open in new Tab in the both Bookmarks and Web page link.

Ronnie8in
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by Ronnie8in » Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:12 am

Actually, with bookmarks and on the bookmarks toolbar, "Open in New Tab" IS an option. There is a series of Tab options under "Settings" that says, "Auto create new tab when a URL is entered" - if this is switched on, the "Open in new tab" context menu item disappears. Switch it off, and "Open in New Tab" IS an option for bookmarks.

ajkalian
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:05 am

Re: Open in new tab context menu missing?

Post by ajkalian » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:45 am

Ronnie8in wrote:Actually, with bookmarks and on the bookmarks toolbar, "Open in New Tab" IS an option. There is a series of Tab options under "Settings" that says, "Auto create new tab when a URL is entered" - if this is switched on, the "Open in new tab" context menu item disappears. Switch it off, and "Open in New Tab" IS an option for bookmarks.
You are correct.

That option is somewhat un-intuitive and I probably left it toggled on. It might be the default setting, dunno.

But I recently upgraded to the latest version and I just checked and it's toggle off, and to be honest, I don't know if it came that way or if I toggled it off when I configured the new version. Now SlimJet acts as it should, or at least the way I think it should.

Single click, the page opens in the current tab. Right Click and it you have the option to Open in a New Tab.

Thanks for pointing this out.

Locked